How to set up a server

I am very new to this, and am having trouble setting upa server. i am tryign to make a server for the people here at my college to connect to, i couldnt find any type of walkthrough to setting up a server on the boards here, so if there already is a link would be great, and if there isnt if someone could be so kind as to type one up… im sure the mods would sticky it for future reference if it was any good.

the main problem im having is with the server name… everything i type doesnt work. for instance i try to create an account through trillian when i made the server name “Kenyon.edu” so i try to make "natpond@kenyon.edu" but it fails, so i change it to just "kenyon, and try to make “natpond@kenyon” but that fails… how can i make it so people can connect to it using thier clients? also can people make their accounts through their clients, or do i have to add them through the admin page?

thanks in advance,

Nat

Docs are inside of Jive Messenger package and here is an online version:

http://www.jivesoftware.org/builds/messenger/docs/latest/documentation/

What i the OS you are using? What’‘s the name of machine you are installing JM at? What’'s th IP of it?

You can try creating an account with username@IP or username@servername. Servername should be resolvable by client machine.

Yes. Users can create acounts by themselves. You should enable (i think it is enabled by default) Inbaund Registration in Admin Console, somewhere at Server tab.

see, it works if i make it @my IP, but people on campus aren’'t really going to remember my ip,a nd plus my ip changes probably every week or so. could the fact that its not letting me log in using “@kenyon” be because of the firewall and all that here?

Nat

see, it works if i make it @my IP, but people on

campus aren’'t really going to remember my ip,a nd

plus my ip changes probably every week or so. could

the fact that its not letting me log in using

@kenyon” be because of the firewall and all that