Invalid character references in XML stream

Hi,

I’m a developer for Digsby, and while debugging a user’s problem connecting to a recently upgraded Openfire server (3.4.3 to 3.5.1) I found the following in a vCard response.

data before being fed into the parser:

'> ’

The problem is that “& #0;” is not valid XML 1.0 (invalid character reference; not in the valid ranges for the construction of Char for XML)

This in turn breaks my parser (libxml2), which causes a disconnect.

I am aware the latest version is now 3.5.2, but looking through the commit history, I didn’t see anything that looked like it would solve the problem.

points of interest: revisions 8618 and 10506 (JM-1388) of XMLLightweightParser

Message was edited by: christopher

please note: added spaces between “&” and “#” so that it this would be visible. original data does not have a space.

Hey Christopher,

The Jira issue you are referring to is about invalid surrogate characters. Is that your case too? If it is then Openfire 3.5.2 will not let a user store in the database invalid surrogate characters. If that is not your case then make sure that your database is storing things in UTF-8 format.

Regards,

– Gato

No, the problem is not with invalid surrogate characters. Unfortunately, the server and database in question are not mine.

I referenced the issue about surrogate characters, and invalid characters in the stream because I believe code for dealing with this will need to be added nearby.

The issue here is that Openfire has sent an invalid character reference, for which I could not find handling in your source tree. According to the XML 1.0 spec, this constitutes a violation of the well-formedness constraint. This is a fatal parser error.

When & #0; comes accross the wire, Openfire has stopped sending valid XML. It does not matter what is in the database, it is simply wrong for the server to send & #0;

Hey Christopher,