Java error when setting up LDAP with Active Directory

Hello, I’m new to Openfire and I’m setting up a server for the first time to test this with Spark. We currently already have an Openfire 3.6.4 server that we’ve been using for years with the Pandion client, however, Pandion is no longer supported and has been giving us many problems lately, so we’re looking to use Spark now. To avoid any impact on our 1000+ users, we’re setting up a new server to test with and once everything looks fine, we’ll switch everyone over to that one.

Anyway, I’m at the 2nd step of the LDAP setup (Profile Settings) and when I click “Save & Continue”, I get the following error:

HTTP ERROR 500

Problem accessing /setup/setup-ldap-user.jsp. Reason:

org.jivesoftware.openfire.user.DefaultUserProvider cannot be cast to org.jivesoftware.openfire.ldap.LdapUserProvider

In step 1, the server type, host, port and Base DN are all identical to what is being used on our current server. We created a new user account for AD authentication and the username is the form of domain\username. When I click the “Test Settings” button, nothing happens. I can then click “Save & Continue” to proceed to step 2, where I don’t change any settings (screenshot attached) and then when I try to proceed to step 3, I get that error message.

Can anyone please shed any light on why I would be getting this error?

1 Like

I notice that there are other LDAP issues that people have experienced over time that have not been answered including one for the exact same issue I’m having. If anyone could provide any assistance, that would be greatly appreciated. Here is the full Java error that I’m getting. Let me know if I can provide anymore information.

2014.04.03 11:06:58 org.eclipse.jetty.servlet.ServletHandler - /setup/setup-ldap-user.jsp

java.lang.ClassCastException: org.jivesoftware.openfire.user.DefaultUserProvider cannot be cast to org.jivesoftware.openfire.ldap.LdapUserProvider