Jive Messenger 1.0!

Hey all,

Jive Messenger 1.0 has been released and is available in the downloads area.

Regards,

Matt

Matt,

Hi. This is my first time I play with this software. I have downloaded and installed jive_messenger_1_0_0_win.exe. Afterwards I launched Jive Messenger and a launcher popped up (together with a DOS window when I press start). I have a problem when I press the Launch Admin button. A DOS window appears for a second (then it closes) and a browser is opened on http://127.0.0.1:9090/ receiving a “The page cannot be displayed” message.

I don’‘t have access to the source code but I suspect that the second DOS window was supposed to start an appserver listening at 9090. Since this window shuts down the appserver doesn’'t start (I checked for any service listening at the port 9090 and found none).

I will later spend more time to see what’'s going on (may be I will try a manual installation). If you have any solution please let me know.

TIA,

– Gato

Gato,

Any chance you’‘re using JDK 1.3? If so, you need to copy a few JAR files into a lib directory as described in the install guide. We’‘re planning on making on including automatic JDK 1.3 detection and library setup in an upcoming release. Also, what OS are you? We’‘ve never seen DOS windows pop up before so I’'m curious to know why that happens on your machine. Finally, you may wish to look at the logs directory inside the messenger installation folder – there should be some error messages as to why the server startup failed.

Thanks,

Matt

Matt,

Any chance you’'re using JDK 1.3? If so, you need to

copy a few JAR files into a lib directory as

described in the install guide.

You are right. I’'m using JDK 1.3.1_06. I will look at the installation guide for more information about those JAR files.

We’'re planning on

making on including automatic JDK 1.3 detection and

library setup in an upcoming release.

Good idea!!!

Also, what OS

are you? We’'ve never seen DOS windows pop up before