Live Conversation Monitoring + Reporting

Hello all,

I am a system admin for an enterprise domain network comprised of 200+ users/workstations. We currently use Openfire 3.7.1 with the embedded DB and the plugins Content Filter, Monitoring Service, and Search.

(1) Currently, under Server > Archiving > Conversations, we can view a list of current active conversations, but aside from searching via Search Archive, there is no way that I am aware to actively view the content of these conversations. Is this something that can be done? We would like the ability to have supervisors invisibly “jump in” to the conversation to monitor what is being said as needed. We would also like the ability for supervisors to monitor MUC but remain hidden from users within the MUC (some type of invisible moderation).

(2) Under Server > Statistics, there is a general breakdown of things such as Current Users, Active Conversations, etc. We would like the ability to view custom reports, such as Top Users By Usage. From what I gather after scouring the forums, querying the embedded DB requires taking the server offline (which is less than ideal). My question is then, is there a plugin that would allow this functionality, or would we be better off migrating to mySQL (which we use currently for other internal applications)?

Thank you in advance for your help!

1. There is no such option in Openfire and Monitoring Service archive. Frankly, i think this is even against xmpp standards to be able to see a chat content without loggin into a room. So probably it would have to be a hack and a custom version of Openfire, or a plugin.