MUC chat room - "Room Member" User Permissions problem

Hello,

I’m new to OpenFire and XMPP but already love it for my forums because of the performance over a PHP Ajax Chat solution. I understand that the MUC feature in Openfire is new and may still be buggy, however, I wanted to know if this issue I’m experiencing is a bug or I just don’t understand the setting.

I created a Private Chatroom in a MUC group chat conference service. The room is set to only permit approved members to join (no password). When users permissions are set to “Room Member”, they somewhat join the room (no restricted member exception), but are unable to see any chat messages or type any messages. They also can not see any users in the Member list. In the Openfire Admin Console, it also displays zero users in session in the room. WHen permissions are set to “Owner”, or “Room Admin”, everything works as it should but “Owners” can not see “Room Members” in the chat room.

Setting a password works fine, but it would be nice to not have one. I have not tried any other client yet (because they other clients don’t even login).

Is this a known issue, or am I screwing up somewhere. Should I try a new client (what would you recommend).

Openfire 3.6.4 on XP SP2 (installed JRE package)

SparkWeb Client

Also, what product is being used for the forums on this website. Is it a product of Jive SBS?

Thanks in advance for the help

Hi pender,

I understand that the MUC feature in Openfire is new and may still be buggy …

No, the Multi-User Chat component of Openfire was present in the oldest Wildfire 2.4.0 version I know. I know some issues with supporting multiple MUC components, but the “normal” support works fine for me.