MySQL woes

I REALLY hate doing this.

Opening up so many threads in a support forum. But, seriously, I would’nt do this if I could’nt find the answer myself. So, please bear with my guys.

Keep in mind I am still a novice at this stuff so most things I do make an honest attempt to look up before asking. Of course anything found always winds up being over my head or nowhere near what I needed(GOOGLE IS NOT THAT HELPFUL*). As stated in another thread I started. I did a clean reinstall of everything. Originally I could’nt get MySQL to properly install for my linux distro until last night. So, its MySQL5.0 running fine. Im able to change the default password and run commands.

However I cannot get the MySQL GUI to connect. Following the advice of 1 friend, I removed a line in the my.cnf file called “skip-networking” and STILL I cant get the blasted thing to connect! What else am I missing? Either way I tried looking up the commands to do the import thing of the schema in the Openfire folder manually. The commands provided in the walkthrough do not work for me. What other commands can I use to import that schema since I cant get GUI tools working?

Thank you

What “MySQL GUI” ? You do not need any GUI.

Login to mysql (if you don’t have set a password for database-root account yet, forgot about the “-p” parameter)

shell> mysql -p -u root

create a new database ‘openfire’:

mysql> CREATE DATABASE openfire;

create a new user ‘openfire’:

mysql> CREATE USER openfire IDENTIFIED BY ‘your-new-password’;

Give user ‘openfire’ only rights for table ‘openfire’:

mysql> REVOKE ALL ON . FROM openfire;

mysql> GRANT ALL ON openfire.* TO openfire;

logout

mysql> exit

import database schema:

shell> mysql -p -u openfire openfire </opt/openfire/resources/database/openfire_mysql.sql

Aw c’mon another one of those “anti gui” things? I thought we lived in the new millenium and long since left the 70’s-90’s?:wink: heheh