Newbie connection problems

Hi all, I am a Jives and Jabber newbie. I’'ve setup the latest release on my Windows XP machine, and then created an account name “test” through the web interface.

When I try to connect, either with Gaim or Exodus, all I get is a “Couldn’'t connect to host” message. My server name is 127.0.0.1. In Gaim’‘s account windows, I put screen name “test”, server 127.0.0.1 and resource “gaim”. All other options have their default value. I have turned off my firewall, and it still doesn’'t connect. Please help me where to look at now.

Thanks in advance

If you could create the account using the JM admin pages, it is not likely to be a JM problem.

Things to check on Gaim:

Protocol: Jabber - (I made that mistake by accident)

Server: 172.0.0.1 or else the local computer name

Things to check on Jive:

when you installed Jive did you disable SSL (I think its enabled by default), if you didn’'t you may have to use the “Show more options” in Gaim account page. I would not use SSL by default as it brings other complications.

I had no problems with Gaim/JM

Hope that helps,

Conor

Things to check on Gaim:

Protocol: Jabber - (I made that mistake by accident)

Server: 172.0.0.1 or else the local computer name

The protocol is correct. The server name should be 127.0.0.1 instead of 172.0.0.1, no?

Things to check on Jive:

when you installed Jive did you disable SSL (I think its enabled by default), if you didn’'t >you may have to use the “Show more options” in Gaim account page. I would not use >SSL by default as it brings other complications

Assuming this is done by changing the value of the property xmpp.socket.ssl.active to “false”, I just did that and still doesn’'t work.

oops…

127.0.0.1, did you try your computer name instead?

Conor.

Yes, I did try the computer name without success.

I just did another JM installation on a remote machine, and the problem persists.