Newbie Questions - Please Help!

Hi,

Total newbie here.

I am thinking about installing Wildfire and Spark as an IM solution for my company. We have over 100 workstations.

I read through the documentation already, but I am unsure about a few things:

1. Can Wildfire & Spark use Active Directory for IM accounts and authentication? If so, how do I set that up?

2. Are there any issues with installing Wildfire on a Windows Server 2003 Domain Controller that is running Exchange 2003?

I have a couple of Servers that I could install Wildfire on:

1. A Server 2003 Domain Controller / File Server that also runs DNS, WINS, DHCP, RRAS, IIS, FTP and Tape Backup software.

2. A Server 2003 Domain Controller /File Server that also runs Exchange 2003, DNS, IIS, and FTP.

3. A Server 2003 Member Server / Web Application Server.

What would be my best option?

OK,

I have been reading through a lot of posts on here to try and figure this out. I installed Wildfire on my W2k3 DC Exchange Server. I changed it to start as a service.

Now I am trying to get my Wildfire.XML file correct. I want to use LDAP to integrate with my Active Directory for users and authentication.

What settings are correct for Wildfire installed on a DC?

Here is what I have so far:

?

Can someone please post their Wildfire.XML file that is working?

is a user that will access active directory to perform the query. Someone please feel free to correct me if I’‘m wrong. Assuming I’‘m correct, if you leave that blank, you won’'t be able to query AD.

Thanks…

So port 389 will work on my DC? I read in one post that AD uses port 3268.

And for can I put a regular domain user in there, or does it have to be a Domain Admin? I’'d hate to leave a Domain Admin password in plain text like that.