Openfire 3.6.4 on Redhat 5.5 Lock Out Error after changing hosts file

I have tried to find a close enough scenario in the current issue discussions and cannot. I am new to openfire, very good friends with Linux and am happy to read whatever documents I have not found. I am running an Openfire 3.6.4 on RedHat 5.5 (Tikanga) and using the local users only, no LDAP. I was first fixing an issue of the clustering not running. When I adjusted the hosts file and got the clustering running, I found that if you log out and try to log back in, you get the error I have placed at the end of this post.

Here are the scenarios I tested. In a nutshell, I am wondering if something in the locks is not cleared? Does something underlying rely on DNS lookups and won’t refer to hosts at all? The addition to hosts which I refer to, is the server’s own IP address which is displayed in an “UnknownHosts” error if I to not enter it. That keeps the clustering from working.

• If I start the server without the additions to /etc/hosts.
    - I can log in as admin
    - I cannot start the cluster. It terminates with the unknown host issue.

• if I edit /etc/hosts and add the IP address.
    - I can log in as admin
    - I can start the clustering, it works.

• If I restart the daemon with /etc/init.d/openfire restart
    - I cannot log in as admin. Just after entering admin/, it gets a java error about “LockOutAccounts”(please see details below)

• if I then remove the entries from /etc/hosts
    - I am back at square on, I can log in as admin and not cluster.

I ran strace on the daemon (verbose=all). It all looks good.

Any suggestions, thoughts, questions that might lead to one of the first two?

Below is the LockOutAccounts error message:

java.lang.ExceptionInInitializerError
at org.jivesoftware.openfire.lockout.LockOutManager.getInstance(LockOutManager.jav a:58)
at org.jivesoftware.openfire.auth.AuthFactory.authenticate(AuthFactory.java:154)