Openfire for the noob

Hello,

Im a novice system administrator wanting to tryout your wonderful server

So in order to do that i downloaded the binary file and installed it on a vmware windows 2003 machine.

The installation went well, and i created 2 demo users.

Now what do i do ? how do i install the client to both of my demo clients ?

Is there a newbie guide to how to implement the IM and all to a org.?

Important to say that i am testing it in a virtualized environment.

Would appreciate any help.

Thank you,

Mike

I would be glad to help. First could you provide a little more info on the network of the org?

Are you using AD for authentication?

What is the desktop client OS?

How many perspective users?

Hey,

Thanks for the quick reply.

The server itself is installed on a windows 2003 server.

Clients OS are either windows xp or windows server 2003.

I am not using AD authentication, I iwll use it when i know how to implement this system properly .

I think you may have misunderstood how question about AD authentication. I was trying to find out how the users log in to their computers (local account or AD).

So to answer your questions:

Regardless of client authentication type you need to download Spark (or another Jabber client of choice). If you use AD you can install the client via Group Policy (takes 2 steps), otherwise visit each computer to install.

Before you can configure the clients you must fully configure the server, and add clients to it unless you are using LDAP authentication (highly recommended).

The users can then login in to the server with their chat/LDAP username.

Server security is very granular. I have deployed our server as an employee only intranet server and therefore have disabled all self registration, guest, and server-to-server features. I have enabled gateways for select users (based on LDAP groups). I also groups pushed to the specific clients based on membership (this allows for easy broadcast messaging).