Openfire Integration with existing web site in PHP

Hi,

I am completely new to openfire/ jabber domain. I want to provide a chat feature to an existing web site.

What are the steps, architecture etc to get openfire working for an existing site? Is there a document that can provide a tutorial for the same?

Some of my questions/ requirements:

1. User/ group data - there is a mysql data that has information about users, and then another table that has information about which users belong to each group. I need to create chat rooms for each group. I think this can be handled by using the class mentioned in the documents that connects to a SQL DB. Or may be write my own class implementing the same interface.

2. Client - I need to write AJAX client, with custom UI. Are there any tutorials/ customizable software available? I think I should be fine with API document that ajax needs to call from browser.

3. Logging in - when a user logs in, the web site issues an auth token that is stored in the cookie on browser side. How can my ajax chat client pass this authentication token back to chat server to avoid authentication each time? I would not like the PHP code to broker each and every request from client to the chat server. Instead, it should get the handshaking done on logging in, and then move out of the communication. Is it possible that web server continues to issue token as it is to the browser - and ajax client sends back requests to chat server with that cookie, and then chat server connects back to DB to validate the token - if the user is not already in the chat server’s cache of authenticated users. If the user is already in the logged in cache of chat server(and the token sent is correct in each request) - then the chat server does not go back to the DB, and honor the request from the client.