Openfire pulling wrong users

Hello,

I am new to the openfire community. I am trying to bring openfire to our university, but after installation and configuration I have found that when openfire pulls in the members of my groups that it is adding the wrong users. For example: Staff/Faculty members have more than one user name in active directory (one being a student account and one being a staff/faculty account)

Example Group:

Openfire pulls in the group: IT

bjohnson (a member of the IT group)

bill_johnson55 (not a member of the IT group)

When I go to the IT group in openfire it lists bill_johnson55 instead of bjohnson. I figure somehow its adding the person based off of the CN name instead of the sAMAccountName, but I’m not sure. Any suggestions on how to solve this issue?

-Evan

Still having the same issue. I’ve went to the System Properties in the Admin Console, and I’ve changed some of the properties from CN to sAMAccountName. Same results. The only solution I’ve been able to find is to put the users and groups that I want to use in their own OU and set that as the base OU. Surely there is a better solution than this. I am unable to move users and groups around due to the nature of my enterprise infrastructure. Any suggestions anyone?

This thread might help you

Specially the second post.Re: LDAP and AD - Limiting Users

This was definately a good thought, after following all the instructions I am still in the same boat.

The problem that I’m having is** not **filtering groups or users.

Users: I have all the correct users showing up in the Openfire Users section.

Groups: I have all the correct groups showing up in the Openfire Groups section.

When I click on a specific group the members of that group are NOT ALL the correct members.

Example: When I click on the IT group in Openfire Admin Console I see a user name:

bill_johnson55

He is NOT supposed to be there the actual user of that group in AD is:

bjohnson