Openfire quit working after 2 years - "not authorized" Error on clients

Hi All,

So i am very new to Openfire. Server was inherited with job and it always did it’s job until Friday, i believe it updated to 3.8.1 on its own because thats what it is running now and i didn’t update it. All clents get a not Authorized error when attempting to connect. I have read thru 2 days worth of online posts from 2008 to current but still can’t fix this. Original guy didn’t document the admin pass i have tried to login to the web consule using every variation of the admin account to no avail. Edited the openfire.xml to let me run setup again. The fields were all filled in already with the correct data as far as i can tell.

Running on Centos server

English

Server settings

servername.domainname.local

Database settings

Standard database connection

MySQL

com.mysql.jdbc.Driver

jdbc:mysql://localhost:3306/openfire?rewriteBatchedStatements=true

root

Pass

Profile settings: connection settings

Directory Server (LDAP)

Active directory

(host name).domainname.local Port: 636 (ssl)

DC=domainname,DC=local

CN=Administrator,CN=Users,DC=domainname,DC=local

*use SSL selected

**User mapping **

sAMAccountName (all default)

__user filter: (objectClass=person)(!(objectclass=computer))(!(cn=BesAdmin))(!(cn=IUSE))(!(c n=(IWAM))(!(useraccountControl:1.2.840.113556.1.4.803:=2)))
__

Group mapping is all default

group filter: (objectClass=group)

Now when i get to the next step of adding admin account i get the error “No username was provided or the specified username was not found.”

the Test Settings buttons do nothing i have read that this seems normal but i can’t move past this part.

I have installed a new windows 2003 server to give a clean install a go but i run into the exact same thing when i get to this point even trying the embbeded database. i do not know how to figure out where the break is. any help would be greatly appreciated.

Devin