Openfire with hazelcast clustering

Hi all,

I am new to Openfire and trying to understand how can we use it for messaging platform.

Usecase is to send messages from one service (Service X) to different clients. There can be more than one connection between client to the XMPP server. Service X will send messages for all the clients.

I am looking for inputs on how can it be achieved. I see MUC for multi user chat. But what are the option for same users chat but with multiple connections. And does hazelcast support the multiple connections?

In XMPP clients are identified by their jid eg: “node@domain/ressource”
node = username
domain = xmpp domain
ressource = part of the jid to identify the “connection”
clients can log into server with same bare-jid (node@domain) + resource. This is known as full-jid.
If one client / service sends a message to a bare-jid all connections will normaly receive it.
If the message was sent to a full-jid the server will route it to that specific client only. (If you dont enable special preferences in openfire: route.all-resources or route.really-all-resources).

On MUC the clients are also identified by their jid. But for security reasons the real jid is normaly masked.
In MUCs you have to select a nickname. The server will then route messages from the masked jid to the realjid and back…
muc-jid: roomname@domain/nickname
In MUCs nicknames have to be unique per room for different users, but same user could join a room with the same nickname:

eg: User A with following jids:

userA@domain/ressource1, userA@domain/ressource2, userA@domain/ressource3
can join the muc room@conference.domain

User A could select “COOLNAME” as nickname and will join the room with room@conferenec.domain/COOLNAME

All messages to the jid above will be routed to all jids of UserA. If UserA takes different nicknames for every three jids when joining the room, the messages could be sent to one or all jids