Pandion Integrated Windows Authentication

Idiots guide!!! I am a newbie to openfire. I have installed the server onto a windows 2003 R2 server. I have configured the server name during the setup to be example.com. Note i did NOT use the FQDN of the server, i.e. servername.example.com I have also setup LDAP and this works fine.

I am able to log into the server using an pandion IM client if i use the username and password option. However i would like to use the windows authentication option.!!

I have followed the the instructions to the letter for the plugin http://norman.rasmussen.co.za/dl/sasl-sspi/

I have copied the three files over from the

bin\SaslSspi.dll
lib\sasl-sspi.jar
plugins\saslmechanisms.jar

and i have edited the jre\lib\security\java.security file.

finally i have added the following

sasl.mechs

ANONYMOUS,PLAIN,DIGEST-MD5,CRAM-MD5,NTLM

sasl.realm

DOMAINNAME

provider.authorization.classList

org.jivesoftware.openfire.sasl.StrictAuthorizationPolicy org.jivesoftware.openfire.sasl.DefaultAuthorizationPolicy

to the server set up.

When i try connect the IM client i get the same old can not sign in. you have entered an incorrect password or the accoutn does not exist pop up.!!!

I have tried everything from chaning the name of the server to be the FQDN sername.example.com to changing the sasl.mechs.realm to be the example.com and yet nothing seems to work. Am i missing something here? Any help would be really appreciated. this is driving me crazy when i am sure it should be straight forward.

thanks

sasl.realm

DOMAIN

sorry, is that the internal domain name or the netbios name for the domain

eg

ddintdom\users

user@dawnayday.co.uk

have tried both ddintdom and dawnayday.co.uk

thanks

When you look at the error log in the web portal you get the following

2010.03.24 14:52:52 [org.jivesoftware.openfire.auth.AuthorizationManager.(AuthorizationMana ger.java:74)