Probably an easy answer

Ok I will admit that I am pretty new to Linux and completely new to running wildfire. I have set up the server on a Core 5 machine and I can connect from that machine using the NICs IP address (It’‘s on a small Windows network for testing) but I can’'t seem to connect from another machine. One thing that I have noticed is that while the server name is the IP address the server prots are listing the IP address as Unknown. Is this acceptable and if not how can I fix this? In addition is there any just starting out documentation that people would recommend?

Thanks,

Tim

Hi Tim,

it may be a good idea to set an xmpp.domain / Server name and not using an IP address. Maybe you ddid this - if you want to get it listed in the web admin console then you need to add a line to /etc/hosts with the IP address and the server name.

You could check with “netstat -nl|grep 5222” whether Wildfire is listening on all interfaces - I bet it is. So try to run “iptables -L” whether you did enable a firewall or not.

What kind of documentation are you looking for? The existing could be indeed a little bit more informative…

LG

LG

Thanks for the response. I changed the IP to a name a server name. Wildfire is indeed listening on all interfaces I think output is as follows:

tcp 0 0 : : : 5222 :::* LISTEN

the iptable states that accept with the exception of the following:

reject all – anywhere anywhere reject-with icmp-host-prohibited