Problem connecting to gtalk

I am new to the transports, so I am probably missing something easy, but here goes.

I am trying to setup a transport to google (not the normal jabber federation, but using an im gateway).

I installed the gateway plugin , turned on the gtalk transport and ran the test for gtalk (connect to the server), that worked fine. I didn’t do any other setup.

I then tried to register using the spark client (using the icon at the top).

I eventually got back an error that said I had an invalid usernmae/password.

I then traced the calls from my openfire server to talk.google.com and here is what I see.

First my server (which is behind a firewall and has port 5222 open to talk.google.com) , connects to google and trasmints these packets:

<stream:stream to=“gmail.com” xmlns=“jabber:client” xmlns:stream=“http://etherx.jabber.org/streams” version=“1.0”>

<?xml version=“1.0” encoding=“UTF-8”?><stream:stream from=“gmail.com” id=“FF8F2C2CDA58DB07” version=“1.0” xmlns:stream=“http://etherx.jabber.org/streams” xmlns=“jabber:client”>

(So far so good)

Google then responds with:

<stream:features><starttls xmlns=“urn:ietf:params:xml:ns:xmpp-tls”><required/></starttls>&l t;mechanisms xmlns=“urn:ietf:params:xml:ns:xmpp-sasl”><mechanism>X-GOOGLE-TOKEN< /mechanism></mechanisms></stream:features>

Then my openfire server sends:

<starttls xmlns=“urn:ietf:params:xml:ns:xmpp-tls”/>

After that google tears down the connection (sends 2 RST packets)

Does anyone know what I need to setup or do to get this working?

Should I giveup this route and go with jabber federation?

Thanks in advance

-Kevin

The gateway plugin does not allow you to create new accounts on the services. You must have an existing account with the service (ie Gtalk).

I already have an existing gtalk account.

From the trace I’ve seen, it looks like we don’t even get to the point where it attempts authentication.

It looks like it’s kicking me out when it tries to go into ssl.