Retrieving offline messages using asmack

I’m new to asmack and openfire, looked a lot for a working answer to this but couldn’t find it anywhere. How do I retrieve offline messages on Logging into my account on asmack?

I’ve used the following code:

configure(ProviderManager.getInstance()); //configuring providers before creating a connection

ConnectionConfiguration connConfig = new ConnectionConfiguration(HOST, PORT);

connConfig.setSendPresence(false);

connection = new XMPPConnection (connConfig);

try {

connection.connect();

} catch (XMPPException ex) {

setConnection(null);

}

try {

connection.login(username, password);

try {

OfflineMessageManager offlineManager = new OfflineMessageManager(

connection);

Iterator<org.jivesoftware.smack.packet.Message> it = offlineManager

.getMessages();

System.out.println(offlineManager.supportsFlexibleRetrieval());

System.out.println("Number of offline messages:: " + offlineManager.getMessageCount());

Map<String,ArrayList> offlineMsgs = new HashMap<String,ArrayList>();

while (it.hasNext()) {

org.jivesoftware.smack.packet.Message message = it.next();

System.out

.println(“receive offline messages, the Received from [” + message.getFrom()

• “] the message:” + message.getBody());

String fromUser = message.getFrom().split(“/”)[0];

if(offlineMsgs.containsKey(fromUser))

{

offlineMsgs.get(fromUser).add(message);

}else{

ArrayList temp = new ArrayList();

temp.add(message);

offlineMsgs.put(fromUser, temp);

}

}

// Deal with a collection of offline messages …

offlineManager.deleteMessages();

} catch (Exception e) {

Log.e(“CATCH”,“OFFLINE”);

e.printStackTrace();

}

Presence presence = new Presence(Presence.Type.available);

connection.sendPacket(presence);

setConnection(connection);//Packet Listener

// Set the status to available

} catch (XMPPException ex) {

setConnection(null);

}