We have come across the folowing problem.
After upgrading from Openfire 3.3.2 to Openfire 3.5.1 the roster won’t share Groups and users not included in group of current user .
However the roster managed to:
Share Contacts with in the user’s group, say “Sales department”
Share Contacts with other users’ groups as if they are included in the above mentioned group “Sales department”. The second point has been achieved when we set “Enable contact list group sharing” then “Share group with additional users” and “All users” or some of the “following group” in options of “Sales Department”.
What do we do to share Contacts with other users’ groups as if they are included in their own groups ?
It’s hard to understand what problem you have. It seems that in first part of message you just explain how have you enabled sharing. So this is not an issue anymore?
About the last one. You mean, you want users to see themselves in their rosters? This shouldn’t be possible with older Openfire, so it can’t be an upgrade issue. Therefore showing yourself in your roster is not a standard or common. So to do this, you will have to make changes in Openfire code yourself. Unless someone will make a patch and submit this to developers. BUT. This should be like an option (show or dont show). Because, for example, i dont need my users to see them in their roster.
There are only some of the contacts shown in the contact list of the user. For example, the user included in
Sales department group can see the contacts included in the
Sales department group only. But he cannot see the contacts included in other groups, such as
Accounting department or
Manufacturing department in his menu. What do we do to make these contacts (included in other groups) visible to the user?
“Enable contact list group sharing” then “Share group with additional users” and “All users” should do that. What do you mean by “users menu”? His roster?
Do you have some plugins installed? Packet Filter maybe? Have you tried restarting Openfire? You can also try making a group, which is not visible for all, temporary not shared and then share it again, maybe change its name temporary.