SASL EXTERNAL authentication with Smack

Hi all,

I am trying to develop an XMPP client using Smack for use with an Openfire server. As I understand it, Openfire support SASL EXTERNAL authentication and I am trying to use Smack to develop a client that can support it as well.

According to the Java doc for Smack:

"

The server may support many SASL mechanisms to use for authenticating. Out of the box

Smack provides SASL PLAIN but it is possible to register new SASL Mechanisms. Use

registerSASLMechanism(int, String, Class) to add new mechanisms. See

SASLMechanism."

Am I right in saying that Smack does not provide the SASL EXTERNAL mechanism and I would have to would have to write my own subclass of SASLMechanism in order to enable it?

Are there any examples (source codes etc) currently available or some sort of guide on how to do this? I am new to Smack and some help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

EXTERNAL support is there, but used by very few at this poinit- so be aware that there might be bugs lurking about. That said, its fairly easy to use if you understand the concepts involved. Also, if looking for examples, the only example I know if is Spark itself (from svn). Take a look at LoginDialog (and LoginSettingsDialog).

Here is the basic overview:

To get Smack to register EXTERNAL as a possibility (its disabled by default), you need to run SASLAuthentication.supportSASLMechanism(“EXTERNAL”);

Next, if you want it to work, you need to be able to supply a certificate in some way. You indicate which you will use via the ConnectionConfiguration object. There are a few supported options, you set by ConnectionConfiguration’s setKeystoreType(…) method:

• “PKCS11” - This requires you setPKCS11Library(…) to the location of the PKCS#11 library

• “JKS” - This requires you setKeystorePath(…) to the location of the Java Keystore

• “X509” - Non functional- wont work yet. Eventually should support a PEM encoded cert+key or something. Maybe another format.