Smack-File transfer : Does file gets stored on the client's machine?

I am new to this smack api. I want to implement file transfer functionality using JWChat , jsp, servlet and smack api.

Code is woking fine but when I try to transfer a file across machines at that time it (file) still gets stored on the server.

Where does exactly incoming file gets stored, on the server or on the client’s machine?

I found that it does store file on the server.

Following is the code.

IncomingFileTransfer transfer = request.accept();

transfer.recieveFile(new File(“C:\”+transfer.getFileName()));

Also I am not getting how to ask receiver whethe he/she wants to accept/reject the incoming file?

Follwing is the code

final FileTransferManager manager = new FileTransferManager(connection);

manager.addFileTransferListener(new FileTransferListener() {

public void fileTransferRequest(FileTransferRequest request) {

//Every one says write here code to check whether receiver wants to accept or reject a file

// but what should I write here. Please give me sample code

// Accept it

try {

System.out.println(“Receiving”);

IncomingFileTransfer transfer = request.accept();

transfer.recieveFile(new File(“C:\”+transfer.getFileName()));

System.out.println("File Received: "+ transfer.getFileName());

} catch (XMPPException e) {

e.printStackTrace();

}

}

});

Kindly suggest somthing. Thanks in advance.

If you are running this code in a servlet, then the XMPP client is the servlet, not the browser. Therefore the file will of course be stored on the web server.

Thanks for your reply .

I am still confused.

Yes, I am using servlet for sending and receiving file. The file transfer functionality which is present in the Skype, I want to implement similar functionality in my chatting application(Its a web application). Where one X person will send a file to Y person while chatting. Y should be able to accept/reject/download that file.