Smack with event loop

Hi all,

I am a newbie to Smack, and am trying to write a jabber client which can take commands over telnet. So, I would like to have an event based system which can listen on sockets for incoming connections (and commands over those connections) and also use Smack API to talk to the server. How do I use a common event loop (so that I can use java.nio as well as Smack)?

Thanks,

Praveen

I found how to do this on the internet, but I didn’t bookmark it apparently. Anyway, here’s my skeleton:

public static void main(String[] args) throws Throwable {
        BotMain bot = new BotMain();         try {             addShutdownHook(); // important to disconnect!             // sanity checks and startup actions
                        // database setup             // XMPP setup
                    } catch (XMPPException ex) {
            final XMPPError error = ex.getXMPPError();
            int errorCode = 0;
            String errorMessage = "";
            if (error != null) {
                errorCode = error.getCode();
              // output error
            }
            throw new Throwable(errorMessage, ex);
                } catch (final Throwable e) {
            shutdown();
            javax.swing.SwingUtilities.invokeLater(new Runnable() {
                public void run() {
                    logger.fatal("Startup failed", e);
                }
            });
            System.exit(1);
            return;
        }                       mainloop = new Thread(bot);
        if (mainloop != null)  {
            mainloop.start();
        }
        mainloop = null;
    }

Note that I don’t know how much of a hack this is, but with the Tanuki service/daemon wrapper our bot works well.

Edit: here’s a NIO tutorial http://rox-xmlrpc.sourceforge.net/niotut/index.html