Some spark users not getting private messages until they log out/in

Hello all. I’m new to OpenFire/Spark so I’ll probably ask quite a few questions so I appreciate everyone’s patience.

Setup:
OpenFire 4.2.2 running on Windows 2012R2.
Spark client 2.8.3 running on Windows 7

I have a user who says that he sends private messages to users and sometimes those users don’t get the message until the user logs out and back in to Spark.

I’ve been able to look in the chat archive in the admin console BEFORE he has the person log out and it looks like the message is getting sent. It doesn’t happen all the time so I can’t recreate the issue on demand.

The resource usage (CPU/RAM/Network) on the OpenFire server itself aren’t even close to being maxed out when this happens.

I have no idea where to go on this so any suggestions would be much appreciated!

What do you mean by private message? Is it regular one on one messages or private messages in group chat? Which party has to relogin, sending one or receiving?

Thanks for the reply wroot.

It’s a regular one on one message and its the receiving party that has to log out and back in.

When the other person logs out and in again, does the message pop as a new one or is it already in the history as an already received? You could also try checking Spark logs on these receiving PCs. Maybe also Openfire logs.

wroot,

First off, thanks for the assistance.

That’s a good question. I’ll have to take a look at that.

As for the logs, 3 questions…

1. Which OpenFire log would I be looking at?
  2. Where is the log? (again, I’m new to OpenFire so thanks for humoring me)
  3. What would I be looking for in this log?

Kind Regards

Openfire log would be in its installation folder, logs folder, all.log file.
Spark user’s log is in C:\Users\User\AppData\Roaming\Spark\logs