Spark Omemo Encrytion

Hello sir ,
i’m a budding enthusiast. I want to provide spark with omemo encryption . But i’m confused how to start .
I need to discuss the existing issues with someone. I need a community to discuss my work with and to clear doubts related to existing codes. Could you please help me with it ? Thanking you in anticipation .

There are no active full time developers working on Spark. Current Spark code has been recently updated to Smack 4.2.3, which i think already supports OMEMO. Maybe @Paul_Schaub can help you (he is the author of OMEMO in Smack), but he might be busy with other things.

Yes Sir. I’ve contacted him. He informed me that Spark still lacks support for OMEMO. And yes he is busy recently , so it’s only unfair to disturb him now. ( @Paul_Schaub :wink: haha ) .
Anyways i would love to check if i get to contact someone who can can indulge in elementary stuff .

I’m not a developer myself and i can’t suggest anyone. @Alameyo did some work on certificates last summer. But i’m not sure he is not busy either :slight_smile:

Maybe starting with a simple task (adding an easy feature or fixing a small bug) would be the best way to go to make yourself familiar with the code base.

Adding support for consistent color generation is what comes to mind, as Smack also added support for it not too long ago…

Speaking of that. There are a lot of minor tickets in Jira :slight_smile: https://issues.igniterealtime.org/issues/?jql=project%20%3D%20SPARK%20AND%20status%20%3D%20Open%20AND%20priority%20in%20(Minor%2C%20Trivial)%20ORDER%20BY%20priority%20DESC%2C%20updated%20DESC

1 Like

Hello. Any progress with implementing OMEMO in Spark?

Nope. I tried doing it long ago then but found it difficult. So I took easier tasks and kept getting familiar with XMPP code. Now if I look at it, it would be much easier. But if you want to implement it yourself, you may go ahead and the community would be more than happy to have you :slight_smile: