Spark Pop-Up

Hi All,

I’m very new to this so apologies if this is a silly question.

I’m the network manager for a secondary school and have recently gone through the setup process for OpenFire (on Server 2008 R2) and Spark on a Windows 7 client. I’ve been very impressed so far… especially with the Active Directory integration.

I have a few niggles with it though… the main one being that, when a message is sent, it doesn’t pop up. All that happens is the Spark icon flashes in the task bar. I don’t think this is obvious enough for some staff. Is there a way to make the message window ‘pop-up’ when a message is sent?

Thanks

Nick

you have a few options. in the Preferences menus, go to notifications.

from there you can select “bring window to front”

Other options are to use the toaster popup or the roar plug in.

Perfect - I was hoping there would be an easy answer. Thanks.

Just to follow on from that… I’ve managed to modify a lot of the settings for our users by editing the ‘default.properties’ file inside the ‘spark.jar’ file. Things like ‘disabling exit’ and ‘disabling password change’. Is there a way to force that “bring window to front” setting by modifying a setting somewhere? I cannot see it inside ‘default.properties’.

Thanks again

I THINK that you can add the properties you want to the default.properties file, but I’m not sure. @wroot would know better than me. Lets see if he can offer any insight.

Thete are no option for that in default.properties and it is not trivial to add something in there. At least in a proper way and not just hiding options in the gui as i have done for auto login and password save. There is still way to enable them via spark.properties.

Apologies for my stupidity Wroot… how do I enable ‘bring window to the front’ in spark.properties then?

I don’t remember exact name of this property, but you can enable it via preferences and then check spark.properties for what have changed.