TLS encryption ciphers

I am trying to determine what ciphers Openfire uses in TLS-protected chat sessions, and to limit those ciphers to “strong” ciphers (such as those listed by openssl with "-tls HIGH:MEDIUM). The Openfire documentation and the discussion boards are silent about either of these questions…

this is specific to the web interface which uses the jetty web engine

I refered to two links (below) but they do not seem relevent

http://www.mirthproject.org/jira/browse/MIRTH-412

http://docs.codehaus.org/display/JETTY/SSL+Cipher+Suites

Is there any way that the weak ciphers (< 56) be blocked?

I too need to block LOW ciphers. Did anyone find a solution to this?

I too need to disable weak ciphers on our Openfire 3.6.4 box as we’re failing our PCI scan.

I’m not a developer by any means, but I think I have a very simple grasp on what might need to be done.

EDIT: yeah, i’m dumb. editing the source code isn’t what we need, it’s just to modify the JRE to accept only certain ciphers…haven’t gotten it working but I think I’m making forward progress.

If anyone has any input, I’d love to hear it as I have to come up with something to get our PCI scan to pass, otherwise we’ll have to find another IM server for our corporation.

Thanks.

WES,

You are right. This is a Java setting and not an Openfire configuration. I don’t remmeber the Java setting that you need to use right now but if you google it you will find it.

– Gato

Gato,

Thanks for the confirmation. I apologize for asking for more help, but I’m stumped.

Here’s what I’ve found and am trying so far:

Added to /etc/sysconfig/openfire:

OPENFIRE_OPTS="-Dcom.sun.management.config.file=/opt/openfire/jre/lib/management /management.properties"

contents of /opt/openfire/jre/lib/management/management.properties:

com.sun.management.jmxremote.ssl=true
com.sun.management.jmxremote.ssl.enabled.cipher.suites=SSL_RSA_WITH_RC4_128_MD5, SSL_RSA_WITH_RC4_128_SHA,SSL_DHE_RSA_WITH_3DES_EDE_CBC_SHA