Trying to use GPO to install Spark

I am fairly new to GPO and using it to install applications. I have been tasked to set up a GPO that will install spark on PCs in the company and I am trying to do this silently so there is no user interaction during the install. I have used several online suggestions to set this up but still cannot get the MSI to install the application. Any ideas

1 Like

There is no official MSI package and building your own from exe probably brakes something. I’m not using Software Installation part of GPO for Spark. I have a cmd script which kills Spark if it is running and runs its setup’s exe with -q switch. This cmd is in the Computer > Scripts > Shutdown. So it runs only when user turns off his PC. It takes a bit longer to shutdown, but that’s ok. I’m using kill command to be sure nothing will interfere, because Spark may take longer to shut off. Full script is like this:

IF EXIST “C:\Program Files\Spark\spark_2_6_3_598.txt” GOTO END

taskkill /F /IM Spark.exe
\servershare\spark_2_6_3_598.exe -q
del "C:\Program Files\Spark*.txt"
copy \servershare\spark_2_6_3_598.txt “C:\Program Files\Spark”

:END

I’m also copying txt file with a version number in its name, because there is no other reliable way to check which version is already installed

wroot,

Thanks for the reply I will give that a shot. hope it works as I have about 1 week to get this working.

Btw, this is my upgrade script actually. The script for the first install was much shorter, without any checks But this one should work anyway. When a new version appears, i just put a new txt and setup file on the share and edit this script and enable GPO to PCs.

Using this version currently:

http://bamboo.igniterealtime.org/artifact/SPARK-INSTALL4J/shared/build-668/Insta ll4j/spark_2_7_0_668.exe