Tweak Spark to disable closing of chat window

Hey everyone. I’m trying to get my office in to jabber. Openfire and Spark work quite well, except for one issue - when you close a chat room, you leave it. I think the simplest solution is to disable closing at all.

Like when Spark get a “close” event it should minimize the window instead of closing it.

Has anyone done this? Any help appreciated.

p.s. I’m not a coder, cant do it myself.

Hi Dmitriy!

This feels familiar! The issue of the easily dismissable chat window was also the biggest challenge out-of-the-box when I made our company start using Spark/Openfire.

I agree there are some functions missing that would have Spark work even better in a corporate enviroment! Two things that would be nice would be::

• user option to make minimize chatwindow on close, or display a confirmation prompt, or close normally (=default)

• if you have conferences marked as join on startup (or if it’s set on server-side) it would be nice to select if any of those conferences should not be closable by users (forcings user to persist in those rooms)

Its trivial to just map the close button to minimize chat window instead of closing it if you are able to compile Spark from source. To map the close button to minimize window, you could change to method windowClosing in src/java/org/jivesoftware/spark/ui/ChatContainer.java:

public void windowClosing(WindowEvent windowEvent) {
    chatFrame.saveLayout();
    chatFrame.setState(Frame.ICONIFIED); // = minimize to task bar
/* The line below from trunk is removed/commented out, since it closes the chatwindow
   SparkManager.getChatManager().getChatContainer()
                                  .closeAllChatRooms();  */

If anyone is interested, my workscenario which makes these changes desirable is like this: