powered by Jive Software

Upgrade wiped out all server settings

I just upgraded (rpm -Uvh) to the new Openfire Server, and ALL of the server settings were wiped out. I had to start again on the installation page. How do I prevent this from happening in the future?

The RPM should denote openfire.xml as a config file and not overwrite it. But in general, not much configuration is stored within the openfire.xml file, only the database and perhaps some LDAP config stuff. All other data is within the database. The Openfire RPM has no mechanism to mess with external databases.

I used the internal database.