Use OpenFire for geolocation

Hi,

I need some help. I’m completely new to developing on OpenFire (actualy any kind of server development) and to Smack API.

In my academic project I need to create a client-server application (client on Android) that enables server to track client geolocation. As I have gathered yet XEP-0080 would be the solution. I have to use XMPP protocol just for that, I don’t need it for any chat, presence or other IM stuff.

I’ve googled much and know that there is no official support for XEP-0080. But I need some basic pointers for doing this.

On the client side I have to use SmackAPI, that I know. But what to I have to do on server side, on the OpenFire itself? Do I have to create a new plug-in for it? How do plug-ins work in general? I develop my own and integrate it on the server (install it) and it’s always running or something else?

I know these are really novice questions, but I really need some help, just a few starting pointers. I have experience in Java programming and developing apps for Android, but no experience in server side of things.

Any kind of help is welcome, any kind at all.

Thanks in advance

Hi,

as far as I understand XEP-0080 there’s nothing which must be implemented on server side as long as the XMPP server supports Pubsub and PEP. Openfire supports this so it’s only a client issue to implement XEP-0080.

LG

From what I can see, you can do this easily with the pubsub API in Smack by simply creating a UserLocation payload class that can be used both to publish and handle events. This would simply be an extension of the PacketExtension class and then you would only need a provider class to parse the incoming events and reconstruct your UserLocation class.

Some sample code can be seen here in the test cases for the pubsub extension in Smack.