User not showing up in group

Hello, i’m using openfire 3.5.1 and it is set to obtain user information via LDAP to my Windows Active Directory.

I setup groups within AD and assigned members. I then setup those groups to be publicly displayed to the IM clients (I’m using Pidgin for my client).

Everything works great (I’ve been using openfire for about 2 or 3 years now, but just recently switched it to use LDAP rather than creating accounts manually within Openfire).

All of my users are appearing in the proper group as they should on the IM client side, except for ONE person. When I look at his user profile within Openfire, it shows that he is a member of the group I set him to within AD.

When I look at another user’s roster within the openfire console, he does not appear on any rosters, and thus does not appear on the list of buddies on the IM client.

I have tried logging the user off of Openfire, removed and re-added him to the group within AD, upgraded his IM client (even though I knew this would not be causing the issue), looked at his IM client to make sure he’s not set as “invisible” or anything like that…

Any ideas? Like I said, everyone else appears in the groups properly that I setup within AD… Except this ONE user.

Thank you!

Could be related to this: http://www.igniterealtime.org/community/message/170993

I was having similar issues.

Thanks for your response… That might be related, but forgive me, I don’t know anything about custom filters, so I don’t know if that could be causing the issue. I am just using groups defined in AD to be the groups that appear to the IM clients.

So, i’m not really sure if that is my issue…

I doubt filters are your issue. There seems to be an ongoing issue with AD LDAP and phantom users with openfire groups. Can you provide more specifics regarding the user account with the issue?

Does it have an exchange mail account?