User Restrictions and Inactive Accounts

Hello,

I want to begin by apologizing for my lack of knowledge since I am a newbie to Openfire. Nevertheless, I am hoping that you can help.

I have successfully setup our Openfire server using our Active Directory LDAP. I am also able to use Spark for client communication. Here are the versions that I am using:

Server: Openfire 3.6.3

Clients: Spark 2.5.8

But before I roll it out to our company, I have been asked for certain configuration changes to be made first:

1. I need to restrict regular users to only IM with supervisors but allow supervisors to IM with anyone in the system. How do I set this up (keeping in mind that our users and groups are imported from AD–if this makes a difference)?

2. I need to make sure that the users’ ability to manually add other users their contact list has been disabled.

3. In the administrator’s console, all of the users from our AD are showing up, including accounts that have been disabled. Since our corporate policy is not to remove departing employees from our system but to disable them, how can I limit the users to active AD accounts?

Thank you in advance for any help that you can provide!

1. This would require the packet filter plugin and I am not even sure it can be done that way.
  2. This is done via the subscription plugin. Set it to reject all. This will include every chat user including admins (no way to avoid that)
  3. This means your baseDN is too wide, or that you need to filter based on account status. Personally I do not use many filters because they do affect performance to a degree. I Would suggest cleaning up your AD OU structure to make it more LDAP friendly. Create an OU that conatins OUs for LDAP users and groups. Create an OU containig OUs for Non-LDAP users and groups. Creat and OU containing OUs for computer workstations. Create and OU for disabled accounts.