Voice chat in rooms

How can I provide voice chat in rooms with open fire. I want one user with mic and others listening. The user who want mic will raise hand. Is it possible with openfire + any plug or other server.

Take a look at the section on granting voice in the MUC XEP - http://xmpp.org/extensions/xep-0045.html#grantvoice. You can grant and revoke voice using XMPP. It’s hard to know exactly how you might want to do it without knowing your app - would there be a moderator in the room who could grant voice for the person who raises their hand?

Thank mikeycmccarthy for reply.

In my client application user will have a option to release the mic. When a user will release the mic. It should automatically passed to next user in que (with hand raised i.e asking for mic). I’m new to XMPP. Is it possible ?

Sounds like perhaps you need a plugin in that case if you’ve got no moderators in the room. What happens though if the person with the mic won’t release it? Or loses their session/logs out etc when they have the mic?

In case of session lost or user is not releasing mic a moderator will shift the mic

If there’s a moderator in the room all the time you could get them to ‘shift the mic’ (grant and revoke voice) using straight XMPP, otherwise if you need to automate it I think you’re going to need to do a bit more, e.g. plugin…

Thanks mikeycmccarthy for your interest.

I this best option is user moderator to shift the mic. What plug is needed in openfire to provide voice in chat rooms. Can u suggest any helping material for this purpose.

That XEP doc has everything in it you’ll need to work out the packets you need to send. Have a look at the API for the XMPP library you’re using for your app - it should have methods in it you can call to grant or revoke voice.

Take a look at this book as well, I’ve found it a good primer for starting work with XMPP - http://oreilly.com/catalog/9780596521271