What are "Stanzas"?

Hi All,

I am a newbie , i just want to know what is the meaning of stanza (stanzas) , I was going through the source code of openfire and i have seen that word alot of times … ( it seems a silly question) but i am really looking for exact answer.

1 Like

From http://xmpp.org/rfcs/rfc3920.html

1. XML Streams

Definition of XML Stanza:
An XML stanza is a discrete semantic unit of structured information that is sent from one entity to another over an XML stream. An XML stanza exists at the direct child level of the root element and is said to be well-balanced if it matches the production [43] content of [XML] (Bray, T., Paoli, J., Sperberg-McQueen, C., and E. Maler, “Extensible Markup Language (XML) 1.0 (2nd ed),” October 2000.). The start of any XML stanza is denoted unambiguously by the element start tag at depth=1 of the XML stream (e.g., ), and the end of any XML stanza is denoted unambiguously by the corresponding close tag at depth=1 (e.g., ). An XML stanza MAY contain child elements (with accompanying attributes, elements, and XML character data) as necessary in order to convey the desired information. The only XML stanzas defined herein are the , , and elements qualified by the default namespace for the stream, as described under XML Stanzas (XML Stanzas); an XML element sent for the purpose of Transport Layer Security (TLS) negotiation (Use of TLS), Simple Authentication and Security Layer (SASL) negotiation (Use of SASL), or server dialback (Server Dialback) is not considered to be an XML stanza.