What is the default username and password for admin console?

Complete newbie. I installed openfire 3.5.2 and then got spark running. I have now come back to look at openfire and tried opening the admin console but it keeps failing at username and password. Quite honestly I do not remember entering a un &pwd so I am asking if there is a default one. Thanks

Quite honestly I do not remember entering a un &pwd so I am asking if there is a default one.
You should created an admin account during Openfire setup. However, it’s possible to skip this step for the case you have already an existing database.

Just stop Openfire, open the file openfire/conf/openfire.xml, search for true and set it to false. Then restart Openfire and run setup again.

Thanks for your answer - just a quick follow-up. Will re-running setup wipe all my existing users?

No, but it is never a bad a idea to make a backup.

admin and admin

I did try this to no avail so I reckon I did set it to something. Have reset it now and recorded it somewhere! Thanks

I don’t believe it. Password fine for a couple of weeks but now when I try to go into Openfire the username / password fails. I have tried the xml edit advised above but this does not work - maybe because it asks for current password when you have to change password in setup.

Any ideas?

Any answers?

You could also try adding another user like your own account as an admin. Edit the openfire.xml file again and find the section where it says and in between that put an account name (or several account names separated by commas) and try logging in with those accounts. You might have to restart the server first.

Afterwards, log in with one of those accounts and reset the “admin” account’s password.

Thanks. It did not work. I put several people in but none work. It did say Authorizeduser rather than admin in the xml.