wildfireHome not found on a fresh WAR installation (I read the docs)

I am somewhat new to Linux and need to deploy Wildfire on a Suse Linux Enterprise Server 10 with Tomcat 5.5.

I have built the WAR and copied it to the webapp folder, /srv/www/tomcat5/base/webapps/

My wildfire home is /usr/local/wildfire_src/target/war/wildfireHome

I have read and re-read the documentation but all I get when accessing http://localhost/wildfire is the message:

Home not found. Define system property “wildfireHome” or create and add the wildfire_init.xml file to the classpath.

According to the docs, I should create the wildfire_init.xml in /srv/www/tomcat5/base/webapps/wildfire/WEB-INF/classes. However, the classes directory doesn’'t exist to start with. After the WAR file is exploded, the contents are as follows:

admin.tld

decorators.xml

lib/

sitemesh.xml

web.xml

Nonetheless, I created the classes directory anyway and the wildfire_init.xml file within it, with the following content:

<jiveHome>/usr/local/wildfire_src/target/war/wildfireHome/</jiveHome&gt ;

As this didn’'t work, I tried to set the JAVA_OPTS variable, which is the other option as described in the docs:

export JAVA_OPTS=’’-DwildfireHome="/usr/local/wildfire_src/target/war/wildfireHome/"’’

Still nothing, the error persists. I am lost now. Could you please tell me the following:

__

1. Where should I look at now*
    2) Which variable is used to set Tomcat properties. I saw some people saying to use JAVA_OPTS while others use CATALINA_OPTS
    *3) Where do I define these variables so they will be always available__

Thanks in advance,

Matheus

It ended up that the problem was that the wildfireHome had no write permission from the tomcat user. I think this should be documented somewhere as lesser experienced users like me will often bump into this problem

I would still be interested in answers to questions #2 and #3 in the message above.