Xmpp.getinstance

Hello guys, I am still very new to openfire and I wanted to ask a question about the xmpp.getinstance method. From what I can see in the docs, this will return an instance of the xmpp server if it is null and is also a singletone.

1. I would like to know how to connect to an already running openfire instance. I know if i download and install openfire, it will create its own instance and run in jetty. That means its in a different VM so there is no way to connect to that since my servlet is running in another vm. If I want to connect to that instance, how do I proceed? Do i need to build the source, get a jar/war and stick in jboss/tomcat where I am running my servlet?

Openfire does not run inside an Jetty instance, it’s a standalone Java application. However, it does start an Jetty instance to provide the webinterface (admin console).

If you want to connect a servlet running on Tomcat with Openfire I see some possible ways:

1. Put your servlet in an Openfire plugin and use Openfire’s Jetty instance instead of Tomcat. My GoogleWebToolkit example plugin might help here, since GWT does also create a servlet designed for Tomcat.

2. You could create a plugin for Openfire with provides some kind of API interface, which you can access in your Tomcat servlet. E.g. an HTTP-based interface would be relativly easy. Something XMPP based would be faster, but a bit more compilcated.

What exactly do you want to do?

Basically, i want to close some of the sessions that are active in openfire when my http session dies. I have a servlet and a servlet filter for that and I want to check:

if httpsession == null

then

getxmppserver.getinstance() and then get the session manager and close the appropriate session so that the user doesn;t stay active on the openfire session. I just don’t now which instance of openfire the getxmppserver is getting. Is it creating a new one ?

Thanks. greatly appreciated.