Help save the Asterisk-IM plugin :-)

It looks like the Asterisk-IM plugin might be on the chopping block. It hasn’t been updated or maintained in a very long time. Now, it appears that its causing issues with the latest version of openfire. I think this is an important plugin, and one worth saving. Unfortunately, I’m not a coder so my help in this is limited.

If you know of anyone that has the ability/experience to help, please reach out to them! It would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

4 Likes

So I recompiled using smack 3.4.1 and updated asterisk-java to the last known release 1.00 snapshot, and jtapi1.4 thanks to Carlos. Anyone dare to try? Its working for me, but my testing is very limited.
asteriskim test.rar (648987 Bytes)

2 Likes

Thank you, it looks like it work. Openfire 3.10.2 OpenBSD 5.5 amd64

Yes, thank you so very much… it looks like it’s working w/ Openfire 3.10.2 on CentOS 6.6 (x64).

Question though:

I put asterisk-im.jar into Openfire plugins, and I put asterisk-im-client.jar into Spark plugins on client workstation… is this correct, or should I put both .jar’s into Openfire plugins? (has only been one jar file in the past, is why I ask… like I said, it is working w/ phone status updates!!! )

Updated:

‘Dial Number’ via Spark doesn’t work, but this is by no means a major issue…

asterisk-im.jar is used for openfire, and asterisk-im-client.jar goes into the spark/lib folder. I’m not sure if the client.jar needed to be updated or not, but I went ahead and included it.

Hi Speedy - I really appreciate what you are doing here!

I am running Openfire 3.10.2 in Elastix on a self hosted PBX running on a Linux server.

I just installed the plugin and here is where I am at:

• Server side - works as advertised. I have registered my Asterisk Server and the Asterisk-IM is able to communicate with it (I see the green light indicator against the entry and I also see the drop down device selection when creating a client phone mapping).